food · healthyliving

Acorn Squash Hash

Acorn Squash Hash

Yesterday was a “go, go, go!” type of day and I’m thankful that I had some items on hand to whip up a quick, nutritious meal for Tim and I when I finally arrived home after teaching a killer indoor cycling class.  Evenings that I teach (3 a week) are tough on the dinner front…usually I’m so hungry by the time I get home I don’t even care what I’m putting in my mouth, it just needs to get in my belly – fast!

This hash is bursting with nutrition from the squash, and the protein from the eggs helps you feel full and satisfied.  It doesn’t hurt that it’s super tasty, too😉

Acorn Squash Hash

Acorn Squash Hash

Makes 2 servings.

Ingredients:

  • 1 acorn squash, cubed
  • 1 lb. mushrooms, washed and sliced
  • 4 eggs
  • Seasonings of choice – we used chili powder and red pepper flakes for some heat!
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil

First, saute your squash in a little olive oil (about two tablespoons) in a large, non-stick skillet over medium-high heat for 3-4 minutes.  Reduce the heat to medium, place the lid on your skillet, and allow the squash to cook for another 5-6 minutes.

Turn the heat back up to medium-high and add in your mushrooms.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper, then saute another 3-4 minutes.  Divide your hash evenly onto two plates.

Using the same non-stick skillet, crack in four eggs and cook over easy.  Once your eggs are cooked, slide two on top of each plate.

Sprinkle with chili powder and red pepper flakes, or your seasoning of choice.  Dig in!

Side note – I think this dish would also be awesome for breakfast if you have leftovers or double the recipe!

What is one of your favorite dishes to whip up in a flash?

Leave a Reply

