Uncategorized

Healthy Banana Bread

Happy Wednesday, friends! How is your week going?

I woke up feeling much better than yesterday, so after tackling a few projects I laced up for an easy four mile run.

IMG_4853.JPG
I’m not crazy about the sudden switch to fall, but it is nice to run in the cooler temps! I ran in long sleeves today and it felt weird!

After my run, my day was filled with more projects around the house! Since those aren’t that interesting for you to read about, I wanted to share a new recipe I created a few weeks ago for a healthier version of a family favorite – banana bread!

I’ve used the same banana bread recipe since high school and am always trying to come up with healthier variations. The problem is, I don’t always write down what I did and have trouble recreating it! I finally was able to come up with a version that was liked and that was much healthier than my original recipe. This banana bread has less white sugar, no butter or oil, and uses whole wheat flour.

IMG_4851.JPG
Healthier Banana Bread

In a large bowl:
πŸ”ΈMix 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce + 1/2 cup sugar

πŸ”ΈBeat in 2 eggs

πŸ”ΈMix in 4 medium mashed bananas

πŸ”ΈStir in 1 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour until combined

πŸ”ΈStir in 1 cup of chopped walnuts if you like banana nut bread

Pour into a well-greased loaf pan and bake at 375 for 15 min, then reduce the heat to 350 and bake for 45 minutes. Enjoy!

If you try it, let me know what you think! It’s dense and very moist (because of the bananas!), so my family really liked it cold.

Make today a great one!

-T

Leave a Reply

