Uncategorized

Flexibility Is Important

Some days start off with a plan, then you quickly realize that your day is going to be off-track.

One thing I’ve learned: You have to be flexible!  This applies to all areas of your life, not just fitness.

Flexibility applies to more than yoga!
Flexibility applies to more than yoga!

I love going to bed with a plan for a great workout in the morning.  It makes me excited and anticipating the workout makes it much more enjoyable.  Last night/this morning was one of those nights.  I planned out an awesome 8 mile running route and was ready to go…until I woke up with stomach pains and realized it just wasn’t happening.  Sorry for the TMI folks, but you don’t run while having a GI flare.  It just doesn’t work (too much jumping around!), and you have to take care of yourself.

My tummy didn’t want to cooperate the rest of the day, but by dinner I was feeling up to a walk (up and down our long driveway!) and decided that since I couldn’t run, I could lift!  Flexibility, remember?  I did a variation of my Fab Arms workout.  It took about 30 minutes to finish and I was a sweaty mess by the end.  🙂  In the end, I got in a great workout.  It may not have been what I planned, but it’s OKAY.  I adapted to what I was able to do, did it, and moved on without regret or getting worked up.

Flexibility.

For me, being flexible is something that helps me be a good team player, helps me be attentive to the unexpected and how I can positively react, and ultimately helps me reduce my overall stress and increase my happiness.  I choose to be positive about change and the unexpected.  I encourage YOU to think about yourself and how you deal with the unexpected –

Be flexible.

Even though I was flexible about it, I can’t wait to tackle my run later this week 🙂

How do you stay flexible?  (In fitness OR in life…I’m curious about both!)

 

Leave a Reply

