fitness · food · healthyliving

Sweet Potato Love

Howdy ho, folks!

I know it’s been a while, so thank you for coming back!  Last week was my spring break from school and work and my family had planned to spend it in FL soaking up some sunshine.  Unfortunately, we lost my beloved grandfather right before break started.  We still were able to head south for a few days after the services and we’re all doing okay, so don’t you worry.  I just took a temporary break from most internet things last week so I could be with my loved ones.

And now we’re back to regularly scheduled programming!  Let’s start with today!  I taught my morning Zumba class before heading to work, where I got to spend some time with my fabulous ladies.  Then it was work, internship, then more fitness fun!  I got to take our employee cardio tone class before going to teach Piloxing.  I had a blast and was laughing at myself for being confused about different step moves!  Step is such an amazing workout – my calves were on fire!

In between everything I had going on today, I was able to grab mini meals that were healthy and filling.  One of my mini meals was a sweet potato I had baked while prepping food for the week.  HEAVEN in my mouth!

If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, it’s not exactly a secret that I LOVE SWEET POTATOES!  They’re cheap, filling, and super tasty.  I’ll gladly eat ’em plain, but I also enjoy a little butter and salt, or ketchup, or even BBQ sauce.  They also just happen to be incredibly healthy, as long as you don’t load up on the mountainous butter brown sugar combo that they give you at restaurants.

Just some education for you today:  According to the American Heart Association, in addition to other dietary factors, it is important to include sources of potassium in your diet to help control your blood pressure.  This is because potassium can lessen the effects of sodium.

Not sure what foods are rich in potassium?  The following foods are great sources:

  • Sweet Potato!!!!
  • Bananas
  • Greens
  • Spinach
  • Yogurt
  • Lima Beans
For a grab-n-go, homemade snack containing two popular potassium sources, try this recipe for Sweet Potato Banana Bites!  I’ve made these twice now and LOVE them!  
What is your favorite healthy homemade snack?  
Have a wonderful evening, friends!
Leave a Reply

