fitness · food · healthyliving · Workouts

Back to Early Mornings

My alarm went off just before 5 this morning so I would be up and perky by the time my 5:45 Piloxing class started. I love teaching early morning classes…once I’m at the gym! Haha ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a an awesome group of participants (as always!) in my class and was so happy to see them smiling and enjoying the workout!

I had a three mile marathon training run on the schedule today, so after I closed up our group fitness room I headed upstairs to hop on a treadmill. After last night’s hilly speed workout, I thought I would just run for recovery. Of course, I instantly got motivated to get in yet another sweaty, heart pumping workout. It looked a little like this:

1 mile warmup at 6/6.5 mph

1/4 mi at 6.5, 5% incline
1/4 mi at 7.0, 0.5%
1/4 mi at 6.0, 5%
1/4 mi at 7.5, 0.5%

Repeat three times to four miles.

1 mile speed intervals – 1/4 mi 8.5, 1/4 mi recover, repeat

For a total of five miles.

20140109-095047.jpg
I was wiped at the end, but it felt great! A recent blogpost via HungryRunnerGirl popped into my head and I can’t help but agree that yes, tired legs feel AWESOME!!

After my shower I was ready for a nice, filling breakfast. Despite the temps outside (-4, but we’re going to hit 22 today!), I was craving a cold smoothie.

Into the bullet went…
1/2 container vanilla Greek yogurt
4 fz strawberries
1/3 banana
4 fz peach slices
1/4 cup fz blueberries
1/2 scoop vanilla Vega One

20140109-095621.jpg
Yum!

Now I’m off to wrap up a few things before hanging out with my family for the rest of the day!

Have a healthy day!

-T

2 thoughts on “Back to Early Mornings

Leave a Reply

