food · healthyliving

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Welcome back to Snowpacolypse Ion, Day Two.

20140106-185232.jpg

20140106-185245.jpg
The snow has stopped falling, but we now have winds and blowing snow…and the temps are dropping into the negatives! If you’ve been affected by Ion or it’s on the way, be safe!!

Today has been low-key and entirely indoors. I’ve been in a cooking mood all day, so I decided for dinner I would try out a recipe I found on Pinterest a while ago…

Enter Cauliflower Crust Pizza! I’m a huge pizza lover, but all the bread leaves me feeling yucky afterward (and the crust usually isn’t exactly nutrient-dense!). I love trying to find healthy alternatives to favorite foods, so I was super excited and hopeful that something I tried in the kitchen would work today. I tried a few different cauliflower crust recipes to see which one worked/we liked best, and I think we have a winner! I adapted one recipe to suit my family’s preferences…less cheese, not as many spices, and no salt…and it turned out nicely!

20140106-185850.jpg

Recipe:

2.5 cups cauliflower, riced (I put it in the Nutribullet and puréed it until it was the size of quinoa, for comparison)
1/4 cup + 2 T Parmesan cheese, grated
2 T whole wheat flour
1 egg
1 tsp Mrs. Dash Italian blend

Sauce + prepared toppings of choice. I used 1/4 cup Dei Fratelli pizza sauce and 1/2 cup shredded cheese.

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Lightly grease your pan or pizza stone.
2. Mix all ingredients together until blended. Shape as desired on pan. Bake for 20 minutes, or until golden brown.
3. Remove from oven. Spread sauce and add toppings. Return to oven until sauce and toppings are heated and the cheese is melted, about ten minutes.

Enjoy!

It is not as hearty as pizza dough…aka we ate ours with a fork. BUT it’s a price we are willing to pay for healthy, delicious crust! Also, if you’re gluten-free you could always substitute a gluten-free flour of your choice or use more parm cheese!

Have you ever tried a healthy substitution in a popular food? Did it work out the way you had planned? (& please share!!)

-T

Leave a Reply

