apo · family · fitness · food · travel

Tornadoes in November?!

Hello friends!

Sending thoughts and prayers to those who have been affected by the severe storms that hid the Midwest yesterday.

I left my conference in West Virginia earlier than planned and started sharing the severe wether message with everyone who was traveling. I’m so thankful everyone made it home safe and sound!! I made it home with plenty of time to spare, so I decided to run home super quickly so I could wait out the storm with my parents. I started off running super fast and decided to keep it up for the first mile…about 7:02/mi. Total run: 2.95 miles, 23:45.

The sun was out when I started my run, but the wind was tremendous. The sky grew very dark just as I turned onto my parents street…I definitely underestimated the amount of time the storm was going to take blowing in.

20131118-181425.jpg Luckily, it still held off for another couple of hours before getting intense. My dad and I kept running back and forth between our tv and our back door, watching the sky until we got the text alert and heard the sirens that we were in a prime tornado zone. We headed to the basement with the dogs, but my mom and I went back upstairs to grab hoodies for everyone. All of a sudden, our windows started rattling and it sound like the storm was shaking our house…needless to say, we darted back down the stairs. We were very lucky – no tornadoes,very little damage (just lots of leaves and branches down). My prayers go out to those who suffered both of those things all over the Midwest yesterday.

I stayed with my parents last night because they have a basement (and it was just good to see them!). One of the best things about staying with them – they always have lots of fresh fruits and veggies! I enjoyed a delicious smoothie made with strawberries, frozen peaches, and a banana for breakfast today. Fruity and refreshing!

20131118-181609.jpg

Today was a typical Monday other than that! Work, teaching my running class, and class! I did stop by the store and grabbed ingredients for a veggie soup recipe. I threw everything in the pot to simmer while I studied for my exam…my apartment smelled sooo good! I can’t wait to get home to cuddle with a nice, hot bowl and some Netflix!

20131118-182040.jpg

Quick Veggie Soup:
1 cup carrots, diced
5 stalks celery, sliced
1 med. yellow onion, chopped
2 cups kale, rinsed and torn into small pieces
1 15-oz. can great northern beans, drained and rinsed
1 15-oz. can diced tomatoes
2 cups vegetable broth (low sodium preferred)
3.5 cups water
Add whatever spices you fancy in veggie soup! I added 1 teaspoon thyme and 1/2 teaspoon sage
Salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a big pot. Bring to a boil, then simmer on low for 45 min-1 hour.

This recipe came together quickly and with very little cleanup! I’m looking forward to reheating this soup for several meals this week!

What is your favorite soup?

What is your favorite smoothie ingredient? (This girl lovessss strawberries!)

Do you like storms?
I only like them when I’m at my parents with my family…that way everyone is in one place and close to a basement!

Leave a Reply

