fitness · Workouts

Catch Your Breath

Yesterday’s workouts really got my heart rate up and made me sweat!  Always a good thing in my book 🙂

I taught my Run Strong class over the lunch hour and came up with a track workout based on perceived effort.  I design my workouts to be tailored by the individual doing them, so everyone feels comfortable, works hard, and feels successful when it’s over.  Easy, moderate, and hard are the words I used to describe the effort in yesterday’s plan…on a scale of 1-10 (1=could do all day, 10=as hard as you can), easy=2-3, moderate=5-6, hard=9-10.  One of my participants approached me after the workout to tell me how much she loved the workout because it gave her the chance to catch her breath in between hard sets, but still pushed her to the next level…what a great thing to hear as a group fitness instructor!

TrackWorkoutSept23

I was a sweaty mess by the end, but headed over to the weight room of the gym so I could start Day 1 of the CHAARG FitPlan Challenge!  The challenge was a “warrior challenge” for time.  This will be used to mark our progress at the end of the 10 week program!

It included:

  • Squat Presses
  • Push-ups
  • Box/Bench Jumps
  • Snatches
  • Plank Rows
  • Burpees
  • Pull-Ups

It was an amazing challenge to complete!  I did use a 50lb assist on the pull-ups thanks to the amazing machine at our facility, but that’s perfectly fine with me!

IMG_6477

I finished the challenge in just under 25 minutes 🙂  I’m looking forward to beating this time in November!

The CHAARG FitPlan is not a workout I designed myself…the plan itself is designed by http://www.shareitfitness.com.  I LOVE it already!  They include links to show proper form and how to do the moves if you are unfamiliar with them.

I finished off the day with some ZUMBA!  I swear not a day goes by I don’t think about, break out in song and dance to, or go to Zumba!  I love it!

Have you..

Ever participated in a fitness challenge?  How did it go?

Leave a Reply

