fitness

Dad Beat Me

Today started off bright and early because my dad, sister and I had to drive to the Halpy Trails 5K in Toledo. The race is well done and the course is beautiful. It goes right through one of y favorite area metroparks.

I didn’t know how I was planning on tackling this 5K. I didn’t know if I wanted to try for some speed or just take it easy with some surges. I ended up started off with a fast first mile (7:13) but had to back off due to crazy cramps (ughhhhh!!!). My dad is actually the person who kept me going that first mile because I was determined to stay with him. Whoops! He ended up beating me by about 40 seconds…how awesome is he?!?!

20130615-223356.jpg
A fun morning of running was followed by a cookout at my parents before I had to head to work! Opening day of the pool!
How do you pick your racing strategy?

Leave a Reply

