fitness

Playing with food, a popped tire, and a 5K

Yesterday was seriously the craziest day. Our Girls on the Run team had their practice 5K scheduled and my two other coaches and I watched the radar like it was our job (which I guess it is) to determine if the rain was going to turn into storms. Luckily for us, it was cool, windy, and rainy, but no storms! Our girls all beasted out their 5K and were so happy to finish! I cannot wait for them to run their big event next weekend…just you wait til you see the craft project I’m working on for them to wear during their race. Two words: sparkly happiness.

I coach and theoretically have just enough time to make it back to teach a boot camp class and indoor cycling class back to back…yesterday with the rain and red lights I was already just going to be on time. Luckily, my co-instructor was doing the first part of our first class, so I wasn’t concerned.

UNTIL

My car started shaking and my tire light came on. I was less than ten miles away so I figured I’d be fine to slow down and make it to class, them take my car in the next morning to be checked.

WRONG. My tire blew about a mile from town. It was one of the most terrifying moments of my life. I was able to get my car off the road and my mind was going about a million miles per minute faster than it normally does. Major shout out to AAA for coming to throw my spare on in the pouring rain. Lesson learned. Don’t ignore the check tire light..even five minutes.

I made it to work about fifteen minutes before my indoor cycling class and jumped on the bike for the first half of our class. I loveeee teaching spin, but felt super bad for my class because as hard as I was trying to not be distracted or freaked out from the earlier event, it took me a minute to collect myself. That is one of the most critical rules of teaching a group fitness class…focus on your participants and their needs, not yourself!

I finally made it home and made myself some eggs and fruit for dinner. I LOVE these plates my mom got me for Christmas…I can now totally play with my food like a five year old. They’re called food face and you can find them on amazon.

20130524-204012.jpg

When was the last time you had your car/tires checked?

What are your favorite spin songs?

Leave a Reply

