Uncategorized

Squats on Squats on Squats

And more squats!  Today I went to a free Body Pump demo offered by the Rec Center I work at and did about a million squats (okay, not a million, but it felt like it!).  My supervisor and my mentor for Zumba were the instructors of the class – it was awesome!

Body Pump(TM) is a choreographed barbell class meant for low weight/high reps for toning and muscle endurance.  According to their website, you can get up to 800 repetitions in one class!  Nuts!  I signed up for the next session, so I’ll be going 2x/week.  Yay for new classes!

I went to the class after flying through a 3.5 mile run.  My training plan had 5 miles on the calendar, but I got stuck at work and wasn’t able to get over to the Rec in time.  I could have skipped Body Pump, but I’m glad I didn’t!  I’ll likely make up the 1.5 miles while coaching this afternoon for GOTR, so it’s all good with me!

image

(I was NOT running outside with it feeling like 14 degrees!)

Yesterday: I pretty much passed out when I got home last night (I guess my rough night of sleep had caught up to me!), so here’s my afternoon update:

I got to the ride and tone class a little early and was able to squeeze in a few extra miles before the class actually started.  The instructor had an awesome workout planned and I was super sweaty by the end!

image

I know…so glamorous!

image

Awww yea!  16 miles!

Do you have any favorite group fitness classes?

Leave a Reply

